Creating content types in SharePoint 2010

Our current intranet at LBi Sweden has no governance in place at all so I’m starting from scratch with the basics. There are many documents on Zone but I’m finding files that were written back in 2008 and still have the old company name on them (FramFab)!  I’ve tasked the relevant people with updating / deleting them before I migrate them over to our new SP2010 platform. A thankless task but someone has to do it!

I’m now creating a central document area on our new intranet. Rather than have folders I am creating a uniquie content type with some relevant metadata field (author, author review date, description, category). All files will be in one document library and will require metadata in order to aid search.

A great little guide on how to Create & Add Multiple Content Types to a Document Library in SharePoint 2010 can be found on YouTube. This was created by TTRcorp who have also produced some other great tutorials on various aspects of SP2010.

 

Posted in Content types, Document management, Governance

Leave a comment